Glass Half Full Quilt by Lindsay Sews

As you can tell by my title to this blog post I will be writing about a quilt.  A beautiful quilt.  My first official quilt sewn!

Yes, I sew but I never really made a quilt before.  I love how it came out and I hope to give it as a gift to someone very soon!  This quilt is a crib size quilt 45″ x 45″.  How I was involved in making this quilt is kind of interesting.  I was checking out Facebook, like I do very often and came across a post from a blog that I follow, Lindsay Sews.  She was looking for pattern testers for a new quilt pattern that she  made.  I was like, well I have never made one before but I am sure I can figure it out.  (This was all before I even saw what it looked like!)  But I was up for anything!  When Lindsay emailed me I was first of all shocked that she even trusted a first time quilter to test it for her but also so very, very grateful.  Once she was sure I wanted to be a part of it she sent me the pattern.  I printed it up and was like, oh boy, I have a lot of work to do here!  It just seemed like a lot when I have never made one before.  Once I got started on it the quilt really came together rather quickly!  There are two quilt squares that you make multiples of for the quilt top.  I made templates out of cardstock so that I didn’t have to stop and measure every single piece cut and it really helped me out in making this quilt.  Some people enjoy measuring but me, I love a good template!

This photo was taken with my cell phone so a bit fuzzy but you get the idea I used to make the block templates.  🙂  It really helped me with the cutting to size of the major pieces!  (Plus Lindsay used it in the pattern! I am so honored!)

Speaking of pattern you can find the complete pattern for the Glass Half Full Quilt here.

I really enjoyed the time I took to make this quilt (about 10-12 hours) and I know it would be great for just us here at home as a lap quilt or as a baby quilt for yourself or the ones you love!  Please show some love to Lindsay for all of her hard work in making this beautiful quilt pattern.

You can find Lindsay Sews on Facebook here.

Here are a few more pictures of my finished quilt from the picking of fabrics to pieces, piecing it together and quilting and finally the finished quilt!

This is where I started with my fabric choices before I started cutting pieces to size.  I did end up deleting a few and adding a few by the time I was done.

These are the fabrics after washing but before ironing that I chose for the front main fabric and backing.

This is one of the quilt blocks.  (I tried to edit it and rotate the image but WordPress won’t save the change.)

The back of my pieced quilt top.  🙂

The front before I sewed it together.

Quilt back before sewing it together and quilting.  I had it laid out on paper because I was going to use spray adhesive to attach the top, quilt batting and back together before I quilted.

Adding the binding.

And the final finished item.  Front and back!  🙂  I really love this quilt!

Thanks Lindsay for letting me test this quilt for you!

A bit of a close up of the top after quilting.

If you love it as much as I do please make sure to visit Lindsay’s blog here and also pick up your own copy of this Glass Half Full Quilt here!

4 thoughts on “Glass Half Full Quilt by Lindsay Sews

  1. Lindsay says:

    Greta, it’s so fun to see all of your photos and hear about the process! I’m so glad it was a good experience for you, and I am incredibly impressed that this was your first real quilt! I mean, look at all those lovely pressed-open seams on your quilt back. 🙂 It’s wonderful work! You make it look so easy, and I am very grateful for all of your feedback and enthusiasm for testing this pattern. You did a great job, and the recipient is going to be so lucky!

  2. Karen I. says:

    The quilt is so pretty, Greta! You did a great job. I love the colors and the pattern. It is so cheerful to look at. I also like how you show the steps as you worked. Congratulations on your first quilt – it is truly a success!

  3. Julie says:

    Wow, Greta! That is an ambitious first quilt!!! 🙂 pretty!

  4. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact used to be
    a amusement account it. Glance complicated to far added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?

Leave a comment