Book Review: Jane Austen by Peter Leithart

Peter Leithart’s biography of Jane Austen is a book I was looking forward to reading.  As someone who has not yet read even ONE of Jane Austen’s books I was looking forward to learning a bit more about her life as a child through adulthood but in reading this book I was just more and more confused.  There were many, many family members, religious members of the family and many family friends.  This made the book rather difficult for me to read as I had to keep re-reading to make sure I was understanding it properly.  The size of the book is perfect as it is just the right size to hold in your hands comfortably and read..but the print inside of the book is a bit small which also impeded my reading.  My eyes aren’t perfect but I practically had to squint with my glasses on to read this book.  If you are a huge fan of Jane Austen I bet it would be a wonderful addition to your bookshelf…but for me as someone who doesn’t know her work at all it really was just a book I would rather put down and more on to other things.  Maybe even a student in college would find better use of this book for more of a detailed life story of Jane herself.

I am a member of Book Sneeze.  I have received this book for free to review.

Leave a Reply

