Fun in the sun..IN NOVEMBER!?!?!?

The other day it was absolutely beautiful outside for being early November and in New England.  It is usually in the 40’s but it was closer to the 70’s that day!  The kids had a blast outside!  Running, chasing, walking, rolling, playing in the dirt, running to the rock and climbing onto it to just sit and be cute!  As you can see..they had so much fun!

The next day I noticed Melody had a “cut” or “scab” on her head.  I figured she bumped it on something and it would be ok.  I tried to look closer at it but she said it hurt.  So I left it at that.  A day or two later I noticed it didn’t look like a scab anymore..but a loaded up TICK!  She had a nasty tick sticking out of her head!  I was totally disgusted.  Its little legs were moving when we started to take it out!  EWWW!!  She complained it hurt but boy am I glad we got it out..completely!  The problem is it was there for over two days and that means it could give her lyme disease.  We have to keep an eye on her for three weeks to see if she gets any symptoms.  So far so good!  Just pray she doesn’t get sick from this! 

What amazed me is that we never went near the woods or anything like it.  They play out in the front on the lawn of all places.  I did some research on it and come to find out ticks can go dormant on the end of a piece of grass waiting for a person or animal to walk by!  Now I am nervous about letting the kids out to play! 

I can only hope for the best.

2 thoughts on “Fun in the sun..IN NOVEMBER!?!?!?

  1. Amy says:

    The girls are adorable, and Zachary is so handsome and grown-up! I hope Melody continues to feel well. Just check the kids thoroughly, and teach them to do it, anytime they play and come back inside! I remember having to always check for ticks after playing outside.

  2. Julie says:

    You got some great photos of the kids!! Daniel has had a couple of ticks also. Ugh! I hate those things! At least they’ve been dog ticks and not deer ticks. I pulled one out of Steve the other day too.

Leave a Reply

