Cookies continued…

So yesterday I told you about how I had made 89 sugar cookies the day before.  Well, yesterday I made 128 chocolate chip cookies!  For the chocolate chip cookies I just used the Nestle Toll House Recipe off the package…I love them!  For the sugar cookies I tried a new recipe…I found it on the back of my flour package…lol.  I doubled this recipe to make as many cookies as I could.  I made the no roll cookies too..as they were super easy! 

“To Roll or Not to Roll” Sugar Cookies

1 cup sugar

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (I didn’t have any almond extract so I used orange extract)

1 egg

2 1/3 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

colored sugar or granulated sugar

 

Heat oven to 375* F.

FOR NO-ROLL COOKIES:  In large bowl, beat sugar and butter on low speed or with spoon until light and fluffy.  Stir in vanilla, almond extract (orange extract is what I used instead) and egg.  Stir in flour and baking soda.  Shade dough by teaspoonfuls into balls.  On ungreased cookie sheet, place 2 inches apart.  Flatten with bottom of glass dipped in sugar.  Bake 9-11 minutes or until set.  (Took only 9 minutes in my oven.)  Immediately remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.  (I used a small cookie scoop just like this to make the balls of cookie dough.  I use these all the time..as I have the small one and larger one. 

FOR ROLLED CUTOUT COOKIES:  Use 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar instead of 1 cup sugar.  In large bowl, beat powdered sugar and butter on low speed or with spoon  until light and fluffy.  Stir in vanilla, almond extract and egg.  Stir in flour and baking soda.  Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours.  Divide dough in half.  Roll each half 1/4 inch thick on lightly floured surface.  Cut inot desired seasonal shapes with 2 to 2 1/2 inch cookie cutters.  If cookies will not be frosted, sprinkle with sugar.  On ungreased cookie sheet, place cutouts 2 inches apart. Bake 7-8 minutes or until edges are light brown.  Immediately remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

 

I made these cookies so that I could send them to my soldier over in Iraq.  The last few photos of the cookies are how they are going to be shipped to him.  Lets hope they all make it there in one piece and not a billion pieces. 

 

4 thoughts on “Cookies continued…

  1. patty says:

    WOW!!!! What beautiful cookies!!! Melody looks so cute too! Nice job Greta!!! I’m gaining weight just looking at all those beautiful cookies! plm

  2. Amy says:

    They look good! And that’s an adorable picture of Melody.

  3. Julie says:

    Wow! That is a lot of cookies. We’ll try this recipe one of these days! I hope the cookies make it to Iraq in one piece… that’s a nice treat.

  4. Lynn Stephenson says:

    Yummy! I’m sure the soldiers will really appreciate cookies that have been made with love.

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

